Kia Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
Newbie here. Im a Driving instructor and looking to replace my aging work horse - a Suzuki Splash - brilliant little car.
I'm here as i like the Venga but read about the awful fuel economy on the pre 2015 4-speed models and was wondering 2 things:-
  1. is the post 2015 model (now 6-speed) significantly better than the pre 2015
  2. is the newer 6-speed gearbox a full traditional automatics (Torque Converter) or one of those modern dual clutch transmissions (DCT) like the dsg boxes in the VW's and Audis?
Any help and advice would be most appreciated.
Kind regards

·
Registered
22 Posts
1. Not really, seems to be a little better but not significantly, certainly not enough to offset the higher purchase price of a newer model.
2. All torque converter.

I have a 2012 auto and it often tops 40 mpg which isn't far short of it's combined figure anyway, I think it depends entirely on what sort of driving you do. Obviously it has a much bigger engine than the Splash so it will be thirstier anyway and like most automatics it is juicy doing town work.

I would have thought a Honda Jazz would have been a good alternative to a Splash and lighter on fuel than a Venga.

·
Registered
267 Posts
Honda Jazz at the minute are suffering terribly with cat theft . If you go for one of these try to get the post 2015 (iirc) which has the cat up in the engine bay. As a driving instructor you don't want to be off the road waiting for parts and not making money.

·
Registered
267 Posts
Media reports suggest it is mainly hybrid variants but normal petrols have been suffering as well especially on the Mk1 and 2 Jazz which have cats which are really easy to get at .