Kia Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I’m shortly due to change my current Sportage for the GT Line, 2.0 CRDi, 48v. I understand the battery used for the mild hybrid takes up a big chunk of the boot space, so no spare wheel of any sort just the “Tyre Mobility Kit”
I’ve seen YouTube videos on how these work but I just wondered if any forum members had actually used one in real life and what was the experience like.

·
Registered
308 Posts
Can't stand them. I was left stranded for hours waiting for AA after the kit on an old car failed to allow inflation of the tire. They seem rubbish for anything but slow punctures.

·
Registered
4,553 Posts
I class them as useless would not even seal a slow puncture on my wheel barrow tyre

·
Registered
374 Posts
I always buy a spare, full size if there is space to stow safely. Heard of too many people finding the glue kit useless.

Personally I have had no experience of the glue kit but I have had experience using the supplied electric pump on a neighbours car. The tyre was not punctured, a low life (or more probably a local delinquent) had removed the valve (it was on the drive at the side of the tyre), obviously had come prepared to do it. After about 5 minutes there was little sign of the tyre being inflated and after another 5 minutes the inflator motor burned out. Then lent him my trusty old footpump which did the job in well under 10 minutes. Took it back to the dealer who gave me one from another car but never used it. There is a warning not to use for more than 10 minutes on them but who reads labels.

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for replies, I understand the comments about getting a proper spare but there isn’t even room for a space saver because of the extra battery.
Having had two punctures in the last couple of years I wish I’d thought of this issue before I opted for the 48v model, doh.

·
Registered
374 Posts