Kia Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Help!

I've recently started to suffer with starting problemswhen the truck (CRDi SE) has been left for more than about 12 hours between starts. It turns over okay, just fails to fire and then the battery starts to run-down, which hasresulted ina couple of jump starts.

I've been 'working around' the problem, by nipping out last thing at night, starting up, and letting it idle for a few minutes before bed. So far so good. (Also negligible cost!)

Obviously this isn't a long term solution, so I'm hoping for some clues here. I'm no mechanic, so felt a bit silly when the garage told me they couldn't fit new glow plugs as my truck doesn't have any...

I'm sure it's not just down to the cold weather.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Update:

Wouldn't start again this morning, so called out the RAC man who 'boosted' me off. Had a brief chat about the state of the battery - which passedthe health-check he ran - and he said if it was his motor he would change the battery, given it's age. So I did.

However, the battery fitted at new was a 12v, 100Ah, CCA900A unit (Kia Rocket branded) which I haven't found anywhere, so I've gone withthe basic CCA720 the dealer (and my Googling) came up with as the standard part. That's over 20% less CCA though.

Let's see if this restores my usual reliability...

Apparently the engine DOES have glow plugs. But they only get used at temperatures below -20 degrees Celsius!

Edited by: mero14

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Day Three:
Half expecting there to be a problem, I put the multimeter on the battery this morning before attempting to start. Reading is 12.33v which I reckon to be about 70% state of charge. Now I hadn't been out on a long run with the new battery, so can't be sure whether this is simply showing me the genuine state it was left in.