Kia Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just thought I would share my towing experiences. I have been towing caravans for almost 35 years, with anything from a 1.3 Maestro up!

I have just got back from towing my (smallish) caravan 700+ miles with my new 2 litre PETROL KX2.

Overall it was an excellent, smooth tow, very stable and the car always felt in control. Compared with my recent experience with a 2.0D Mazda 6 a lot more gearbox stirring was needed on the hills. The mpg came in at about 22, as opposed to 25, occasionally a bit more, with the Mazda.

Fitting my clamp-on towing mirrors was difficult at first due to the fat-rimmed mirror nacelles, but this was resolved by putting the two clamps close together at the inboard end where the top rim is thinner. Having adjusted the mirror angle the rear view was better than with previous cars.

The Witter detachable towball worked like a dream and all the electrics functioned as expected. I really can recommend Hedleys of Durham (no connection, just a twice satisfied customer).

The only negative with the car was the awkward change-down from 5th to 4th, which I botched several times before I realised it is easier to do it in two stages (out of 5th into gate, then flick backwards without exerting ANY lateral force). Not a problem for 6-speed diesel drivers.

Overall, a good first outing.

·
Registered
31 Posts
thats good to hear i have ordered a kx3 2.0l diesel to pull my lunar quasar hopefully it performs as good as yours did.when you got the towbar fitted did they have to make any bumper cuts?

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No bumper cuts at all. The detachable towball mounting is really neat and you would never know it was there.

According to the Caravan Club outfit matching service (without knowing the exact Quasar model) you should have a good match!

·
Registered
31 Posts