Kia Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
We have put a deposit down on a new caravan and was hoping to tow with our Sportage 2016 1.6T AWD GT LINE.
Having done some weight figures, I am in need of some advice.
The Kerbweight of the Sportage is 1600KG.
The MAX towing weight of the sportage is 1900KG.
The caravan MRO is 1374KG and the MTPLM is 1550KG.
Now, I have used the towcar.info website to work out whether it is suitable and I have also read that you should keep the caravan within the 85% of the kerbweight.
However When I play around with the weight distribution for the caravan and car it states that the Sportage should be ok to tow.
I don't want to change the sportage as I love it! Any advice and guidance is appreciated as I have been at this for days!!!馃槶馃槶

Super Moderator
2020 Sportage GT-Line CRDi
I have no experience of towing with the 1.6 Sportage, I much prefer the diesel engined version, so a difficult question to answer. For what it's worth you will be running at a 96% towing limit, so it really depends on your towing experience. I would guess you will have to work the gearbox to keep to a decent pace, and you will have to keep a wary eye on your user payload. Personally I would prefer not to get above 90% towing limit, but that is just me.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have no experience of towing with the 1.6 Sportage, I much prefer the diesel engined version, so a difficult question to answer. For what it's worth you will be running at a 96% towing limit, so it really depends on your towing experience. I would guess you will have to work the gearbox to keep to a decent pace, and you will have to keep a wary eye on your user payload. Personally I would prefer not to get above 90% towing limit, but that is just me.