Kia Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got a lovely and almost immaculate blue 2019 4 T-GDi and want to fit a tow bar for towing my glider and bike rack.

I've had a really good search thro the forum, but still have a couple of questions I'm hoping someone who has fitted a tow bar can help with :)

I've fitted a tow bar recently to a mini cooper, so not a total newbie to this, but want to go in with my eyes open..
The mini was much older so I wasnt so worried about removing the rear valance/bumper, tho actually it all went fine..

Looking at the install manuals for the usual suspects witter/ umbridge etc.. they all seem to suggest you've got to take the rear bumper off to install the tow bar ?

Rectangle Font Parallel Pattern Electric blue

Font Art Number Pattern Brand

White Motor vehicle Organism Automotive design Gesture

Is that right, or can you get it on by just lowering the exhaust, like in the many USA based youtube videos ?

Most of the posts seem to suggest the towbar fitting only takes ~45 mins, which would suggest dropping the exhaust rather then taking the back valance off ?

For the electrics, I appreciate I need to get a car specific kit... I dont want to be scotchlocking it !!

I only want the basic single 7 pin electrics (12N towing electrics), so wont need to run an additional 12v feed from the main battery, but... I also dont want to be cutting into any looms if I can avoid it.

but...
the pfjones 'dedicated' kit @£130
seems to need a few cuts/joints in a few wires including the canbus....
Human body Jaw Organism Gesture Font

White Organism Line Font Slope

is that right ?

Or has anyone used the much much more expensive kia oem kit ?
TOW BAR WIRING KIT 7 PIN 12N F1620ADE00CP £253.00

does that still need some cutting/jointing, or is it all proper connectors only ?

the pictures on kia site dont help much... it doesnt look like ready made connectors only...