Kia Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this fantastic forum and wonder if I might ask for some advice please? I am on a fairly tight budget of around £4,000 and looking for a Sportage (probably a 2007/8/9). I am trying to learn what I can, but wanted to ask if I have the choice, whether it's better to choose diesel or petrol from a reliability perspective? I have always been averse to diesels due to DMF's and other associated problems with diesel engines.
However, I'm open to being persuaded. ;)

Also any Sportage specific faults that I should watch out for that may differ from the usual things you would look for?

Thanks in advance.

Tony

·
Registered
Sportage 4 T-gdi
90 Posts
On an 11 year old car, it depends on the previous owners. Get the best car you can afford.
Why do you want a Sportage particularly? Mileage? Type? Towing ability?

·
Registered
412 Posts
Hi Tony

Depending on where you live (amount of winter road salt) - the subframes can get badly corroded and seem to be manufactured from fairly thin metal.
We have a 2008 Sportage XS 2.0 crdi (diesel) Automatic which does circa 37mpg although it does touch 40mpg on a longish run in warm weather.
It is a great motorway cruiser c/w cruise control,the suspension is fairly old fashioned which makes it a little lively on bumpy/uneven back roads,but overall we love the old bus :)
I am not aware of the DPF being over sensitive on these older Sporty's,but it would be sensible not to do too many consecutive/continuous short journeys.
The EGR valve can (as with all diesels) get badly clogged but is very DIY - able if you are fairly experienced at car maintenance.
The diesel is very easy for regular servicing - being high enough to drain oil without using ramps or jacks,the oil filter is right on top of the back of the engine.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)