Kia Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I'm a newbie!

Just bought a 59 Reg Sportage and thus far very impressed.

However, I am a little confused, and perhaps someone here can help.

Having looked at the KIA website, it states that for my model and year of car my service interval is 12500 miles / 12 months, whichever comes first.

So assuming I don't do more than 12000 miles a year (which is almost certain) I only need to service my car once a year? And if so, which service? Do I perform the full service annually, or do I alternate every other year eg interim, full, interim, full etc?

I just want to be sure so I don't mess up my warranty.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,

Sgt.

·
Registered
197 Posts
I guess you have the 'old' model and a CRDi (diesel)? The service intervalis indeed 12500 miles or 12 months which ever comes first so if like me you do a bit less than 12500 miles each year, just get it serviced once every 12 months and just have the garage - or yourself - follow the schedule for the next service due.This way you should have a reliable car and a valid warranty. If you do the service yourself, keep the receipts for any thing you buy such as oil.

Great cars - it's snowing here again and I'm so pleased to be driving my Sportage.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hmmmm so anyways I decided to get a quote for the next service from my local KIA and was sent a reply via email : £352.86!!!

Does that sound right? That sounds a bit high to me, even for a dealership?

Cheers,

Sgt.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Hi Sarge, I've got a Sportage XS on a '56 plate. Last month I had a service, (oil, oil and fuel filters, brakes adjusted etc), and an MOT done at my local garage, (not KIA), for £200:05.
Count yourself lucky, my Mrs has just had an annual service on her BMW series 1, (at BMW dealer), and they charged her £600:00!! (that included brake pads).

Regards, Mike

·
Registered
197 Posts