Kia Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have recently bought a 1996 2lt petrol sportage 2 weeks ago. I had a few faults to put right as you normally do with a 2nd hand car, rocker gasket leak, clutch slave cylinder, and a new thermostate because the expansion tank keeps bubbling after a journey (havent stopped this yet though). But I am new to 4x4's and this is puzzling me. The car drives ok in 2wd but when i select 4wd H the car seems to drive as if i have a binding breakand feels like I am having to force it to drive. at very low speed, like when backing of the drive or crawling forward the car will stop if i dip the clutch with it in gear just like the hand brake is on. all the brakes are fine and it only does it in 4wd and not in 2wd. Any idea's or comon faults i should know about. could it just need the diff, thetransfer boxand gear box oils changing. please help a new 4x4 novice. thanks in advance, Alan.

·
Registered
5 Posts
i got same problem with mine its sounds like you hubs arent engaging as they work on a vacum system they have rubber pipes which attach to hubs
these on mine are all split and sucked up dirt into pipe work i may have to renew all metal pipe work for the vacum system

<TABLE id=post318948 =tborder border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" align=center itxt="1">
<T itxt="1">
<TR vAlign=top itxt="1">
<TD style="BORDER-RIGHT: #ffffff 1px solid" id=td_post_318948 =alt1 itxt="1">