Kia Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
To start, I'm a complete novice with any computer system, I've also never owned a sat nav or indeed a car with sat nav.

I have recently bought a 2018 Optima Sportswagon GT-S line 1.6 diesel and I absolutely love it. I have read that you can use the saftey camera alerts on the sat nav, I have all the other options speed signs etc but cannot find the camera alert.
Do I need to update the sat nav if so how in a foolproof way do I do that?

·
Registered
5,212 Posts
The camera alerts work in different ways on various models but in general you will need to connect your phone using the USB port and set the phone up as a wifi hotspot. Then connect the satnav to the phones hotspot. The camera data is obtained from TomTom via your phone and the internet. Your phone contract must allow hotspot services (not all do). There are various apps which can automate this so when the phone detects connection to the car everything happens automatically. Speed signs come from the camera behind teh rear view mirror - it actually reads the speed signs so you even get temporary speed limits.

Many folk prefer to use Google maps or Waze on the phone as these seeem to have more up to date maps and more up to date traffic/congestion data.

·
Registered
2,221 Posts
Do I need to update the sat nav if so how in a foolproof way do I do that?
With regard to speed camera alerts, post #2 pretty well explains all you need to know.

As for the software/firmware contained in the infotainment unit which supports the mapping that the integrated 'Here' system provides, your KIA dealer can update that if necessary. If the car was a very recent acquisition, you might be able to persuade the KIA dealer to update the system for free as an act of goodwill. Otherwise, there is a cost to be met which I believe is £40.00 inc VAT currently.