Kia Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
KIA Niro 2020 HEV - DynamicPlusLine
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is there any kind of "camera guard" or rain-shield for the rear camera? I know CamWipe, but I am thinking something else, more simple (cheaper lol) :D

·
Registered
47 Posts
@iooi actually it amazes me that something which one would assume needed to be as streamlined as possible i.e. a car, especially an EV, collects so much muck on the back. I'm sure this means it's not as efficient as it could be 🤔. However I'm no scientist but I have watched programs about how airflow is managed 😄

·
Super Moderator
9,412 Posts
The problem is the air flows over & round the car. Leaving a dead spot at the rear which sucks the air back towards the rear of the car.
A lot of Kia's & other marques are like this. Given the perceived needs of the average car owner (SUV, so manufactures tell us by their ranges) it's not really possible to make them streamlined. Well unless they are a lot longer....

Form over function or function over form 🤪

Notice non have a really flat back end.

·
Registered
337 Posts
@iooi actually it amazes me that something which one would assume needed to be as streamlined as possible i.e. a car, especially an EV, collects so much muck on the back. I'm sure this means it's not as efficient as it could be 🤔. However I'm no scientist but I have watched programs about how airflow is managed 😄
Back in the day, when everyone drove saloons rear wipers didn't exist nor were they needed. In invention of the hatchback produced the problem of muck being attracted to the rear window and a wiper being needed.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Accepting what you say @iooi the issue seems particularly acute in the Niro. My previous few cars were Hyundai Kona, i10, ix35 and Diahatsu Terios but none were as bad as the Niro. I think the new Niro looks more sloped so maybe more streamlined.

·
Registered
309 Posts