Kia Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I have a problem that seems to have developed with my keyless entry system and wondered if anyone has had the same problem and can offer any help.
My car will not open using the remote control though it will open using the key. When i turn on the ignition both indicators illuminate and stay illuminated. If i press the lock or unlock button twice the indicators go off and generally stay off however on occasions whilst driving they have all illuminated again and i have had to press the lock/unlock button on the remote to get them to go off. It has been suggested that my system has lost the key programming but i have reset the keys a number of times but the problem persists. Can anyone help me please?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Thank you for the reply thunderbird. Im afraid i have to disagree with you on this one, I am an electrical engineer and with years of experience fault finding I feel that I can say that modern auto electrics are far from a dark art though many a dealer would like you to think so! My experience is that most problems occur time and time again and once diagnosed the same soloution can be applied. From posts on this forum and others it would seem that the problem is connected with the vehicle ETACS system and many posters have linked the problem to water getting into contact with the vehicle electrics. What i was hoping for was some kind person who has had the same problem and managed to trace the origin of the fault to post with their experience and save me reinventing the wheel. My own suspicions are that the problem could either be with the electrical contacts on the door locks or the antenea that receives the signal from the remote fob. I am sure some forum member has indeed had this problem and one way or the other managed to get it sorted.

·
Registered
399 Posts