Kia Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Sorento 4 HEV
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I’m new to Kia, and have just purchased a Sorento 4 HEV. I’m really pleased with it so far and impressed by all of the various gadgets.

One thing that I’m unsure about so far though is the front parking sensors, and the Park Distance Warning coming on.

The car is equipped with both front and rear parking sensors. The rear ones always activate (along with the cameras) when I put the car in to reverse. The front ones however do not automatically activate (unless switching from reverse to drive). I need to press the button on the centre console to activate them. At this point they function ok.

I have been trying to find out if this is the expected behaviour by searching across multiple forums and other web articles, but I can’t seem to find a definitive answer anywhere.

In my previous car, when the speed dropped low enough and you approached an object the sensors would automatically warn you when you got close, without having to manually activate the system. It seems strange that for a car with so many driver assist settings that you have to activate one of the basic ones manually

I’ve read a few posts regarding other Kia models which indicate that manually activating the sensors is just how it is on Kia’s. However - the manual provided with my car indicates there is an ‘Auto ON’ setting for Park Distance Warning, but I don’t have the options described when I go into my vehicle settings.

I wonder - does anyone else have this option (or do their Sorento front sensors automatically activate?).

Not sure if I’m missing something?!!

Attaching the relevant pages from the manual, and the options I have for Park Assist in the settings.

·
Super Moderator
4,984 Posts
Hi & Welcome

Have moved this to the Sorento section as we have a few users with the same car, who would be better placed to help.

Reactions: Phil in Wales

·
Registered
Sorento 4 HEV