Kia Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks Im new to this forum. I've been using a vacuum pump for changing oil on cars for the last 3 years, I find that more oil can be removed this way.
Is there anything in the Kia Ceed 1.4 crank case that can be damaged by pushing an aprox. 6mm O.D. plastic tube down the dipstick tube?
When the plastic tube is pushed to the bottom, only 2 liter of used oil is extracted.
However if the tube is manipulated and stabbed a bit so that it bends off to the car's LH side, then about 3.4 liter can be extracted.
I have not had to stab and manipulate the 6mm tube so much to get it the last few cm down on other cars.

·
Registered
179 Posts
Hi folks Im new to this forum. I've been using a vacuum pump for changing oil on cars for the last 3 years, I find that more oil can be removed this way.
I am a little unsure how one would be able to get more oil out through the dipstick hole than by draining from the sump plug ??? As long as the car/sump is at the correct angle for draining,then removing the sump plug is going to allow as complete a draining as is possible.

·
Registered
1,763 Posts
I am a little unsure how one would be able to get more oil out through the dipstick hole than by draining from the sump plug
In truth, the difference between the vacuum extraction method and the traditional sump drain method is minimal. If we say that a sump drain removes 96-98% of the oil, a decent suction device will probably remove 93-96%…..ish in both cases.

Now that flushing oil has gone out of fashion and modern, fully-synthetic lubricants are used commonly, it really doesn’t matter if 100% of the used engine oil is evacuated. Were it a risky endeavour, manufacturers would have stricter servicing regimes and the likes of KIA and those others providing long-term warranties would probably re-think and shorten their engine warranty to the industry norm.