Kia Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am new to Kia and bought a Sorento XT CRDi last week. The garage put a new tyre on the O/S/F as it was on the limit.

While out driving it the last couple of days I have felt a bit of a misfire or kind of judder around the 2000-2500 rpm range, as I am accelerating up through the gears. Kind of like the engine is holding back a bit on me.

There is a post on the forum that also speaks about a judder and goes on to talk about tyres and their wear. I have two Hankook's on the rear and two cheapo brand type tyres on front, a Barum and something else that is the brand new one - ALSO I feel while sitting on the dual carriageway and also many other roads it feels like the car is almost vibrating slightly, even when i was going down a hill I slipped it into neutral and it never disappeared as I thought it was the engine that was causing it. It just isn't a smooth ride at all.

Any ideas will be greatly appreciated. Another query can anyone point me in the direction for second hand Sorento parts, I have a few faults I need to fix, electric folding mirror inop, rear wiper poor motor like its on the way out and the electric aerial isn't retracting properly.

Thanks in advance
Ian

·
Registered
20 Posts
I am no expert mate
but in simple terms your Hankooks on the rear need to be put on the front if
even in tread depth, you then need another of the brand new budget tyres and
have them both on the same axel on the rear,

Ideally you should have all 4 brand new
and replace in pairs with the same make again and always put the new on the
rear, your actually better off with 4 budget tyres than 2 premium and 2 budget,

What I think your feeling is the
clutches in the transfer box overworking due to it trying to find the best grip
all the time,,

I am happy to be over ridden by more knowledgeable
persons but I would start there..

Good Luck..

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3