Kia Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello

I'm a newbie so hello to everyone.

I have a '56 Sorento with manual gearbox. I bought the car at 6 months old and have been very pleased with it until now. In August we went camping with the Sorento and during the 2nd week a vibration started at about 45 mph. We realised that the vibration only happened in 5th gear and that speed wasn't relevant (we initially thought it was our roofbox causing it).

As we weredue to returnhome the following day I avoided using 5th gear and took it straight into the garage I use for servicing. They emtied the gearbox oil and found 2 pieces of broken teeth in the sump. We are not aware of any occassions of 'crunching' and certainly not in 5th gear.

Has anyone come across this before as we are having problems re warranty and repair. The car has done 50,000 miles.

Any info would be appreciated,

Cheers,

Edited by: Foster Dad

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Just to fill this story out a bit more.........

The problem with the gearbox happened a matter of days before the warranty ran out. I took the car into my local Kia dealership on the Saturday morning (the warranty ran out the following Monday), I saw a chap in the service department and showed him the broken teeth and explained that the warranty was due to run out in a few days and that I was not going to be able to bring the car in on the Monday due to a family funeral. he said that I should come back the following week and see the chap who dealt with warranty claims.