Kia Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am interested to know if any body has experience of led headlights in the snow, do they self clean ie melt the snow from the lense ? standard bulbs create heat which keeps the lenses clear of snow/ice to a degree. As leds run cool i wondered if this was a problem?

·
Registered
Fusion white 2014 Proceed GT Tech
392 Posts
I've no direct experience of LED headlights, but I don't think it is quite true they run cold. I have an LED torch which turns itself down to avoid overheating, and recent videos I've seen of the new Gordon Murray supercar mention the headlight heat-sink (exposed for your viewing pleasure, as below). Perhaps with a concealed heat-sink, the heat just dissipates in the engine bay. Interesting to hear what KIA drivers have experienced.
Screenshot 2021-01-10 at 17.20.24.png

[Hopefully Gordon won't come after me for copyright!]

Reactions: noublue

·
Registered
4,781 Posts
LEDs run cooler but still produce heat, as does the lamp associated driver. Some LEDS require fan cooling so perhaps they direct the cooliing air into the lamp housing? This will mean that the capacity to melt snow is reduced however. I have never experienced snow build up on a headlamp while driving (provided it is cleaned off initially) but I suppose it is possible if the conditins are severe enough. Any Scottish members care to comment?

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
A couple years ago i was in france driving through the "beast from the east" snow storm ice built up on fog lights, the lense was covered except for a hole in the middle where it melted. the headllght surround and bonnet was covered in ice/snow with 3/4 of headlight clear where i presume the ice/snow had melted.

·
Registered
172 Posts