Kia Owners Club Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have just taken my 2016 Kia Sportage to a Kia Garage to book it in for a service (4th year service) and was quoted £460.00 which seems incredibly excessive to me.

Do I HAVE to get the service done at a Kia Garage if I have the car on PCP and is that price about the norm?

Thanks in advance.

Craig

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I am the owner of the car. I bought the car in Dec 2018 and had a free service by the sealer in January (3rd service) so this is the first service I have had to pay for.

·
Registered
2,237 Posts
Do I HAVE to get the service done at a Kia Garage if I have the car on PCP and is that price about the norm?
Have you considered using the KIA UK website to arrange a service? I have read that the prices are very reasonable although I have no personal experience.

Unless there is a stipulation in your PCP agreement to the contrary, you are free to have your KIA serviced anywhere you want. To ensure the vehicle remains warranty compliant, however, any independent VAT-registered garage would need to itemise every part used along with the exact specification of oils and fluids, all of which must be at a minimum, of equivalent quality to the OE supplied by KIA.

For what it’s worth, the price you have been quoted does seem to me to be a little on the high side although to be fair, it is a pretty comprehensive service.

·
Banned
666 Posts
As per other thread where this is mentioned, EU law is that you are NOT forced to use the main dealer for servicing.
I can't see how a PCP/lease agreement can overrule this law.
Kia and Hyundai really do take the mickey with their servicing costs, it's a pitfall of their extended warranties.
They know full well XX% of people will still have this 'must use main dealer to keep warranty' mentality.