Kia Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Recently purchased a new Kia Rio 1.4 Chill (09). I've been driving the car now for two months and average 28mpg. Recently did 282 miles on a full tank. I don't drive at great speed or with hard acceleration.
The manafacturers specifications state 38.7 mpg. I could understand some variation, but 10 mpg is a remarkable difference. I am wondering if any other Kia Rio owners have found fuel consumption figures to be different to that of the manafacturers spec. Specifically the Kia Rio 1.4.
Any thoughts would be appreciated.

·
Registered
328 Posts
I do have a rio but not a 1.4 petrol version so I can only offer rough advise.

However, I think you will find most cars (regardless of make or model) do not achieve the figures published.

This is because the government tests are done by people in long white coats with the car in a laboratory under 'simulated' conditions.

From reading other posts in other forums, 10% less the reported figures are what you are likely to get in the real world.

282 miles on a full tank initially sounds really bad, but it is only a 42 litre tank (others have larger tanks).

·
Registered
2,252 Posts
I totally agree with you Diddy1234 the figures quoted by manufactures are hard to replicate. They are all done on a rolling road with no air resistance or gradients and do not reflect on actual driving conditions. So treat every figures for perforformance and fuel consumption with a dose of salts. But in saying that I am very happy with mpg and performance of my diesel Rio. One of the most powerful diesels in its size.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the reply.