Kia Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, this is my first ever post on any forum so sorry if I make any mistakes. I bought a 2020 Picanto Gt-line on 8/1/21, from a main dealer (their car) with 3,800 miles. Full disclosure, I am a driving instructor but due to lockdown this car was not used for lessons till 14/4/21. Before that date my car has already needed 2 replacement timing chains / tensioner and guides. Problems include metallic clatter on startup, which quickly develops into a loud whine / whirring sound on normal driving. If left it leads to a siren type sound and loud hiss in higher gears. The first replacement chain / tensioner lasted a few days before chain was stretched to a point I was told to not drive the car. Apparently the replacement tensioner was also faulty. My car is currently back with Kia again as same problems have restarted. Kia dealer and Kia UK now admit my car is making all these sounds but that it’s normal after the car has a few thousand miles on the engine. My car has now done 5,700 miles.
Also, my steering column rings like a cowbell over less than perfect roads if it’s in a lower position. Kia also admit my car does this but they say they all do and it’s another thing I’ll need to live with.
At the moment I’m very disappointed with Kia, especially over the 1.0 T-GDI issues. Any advice or experience of these issues would be gratefully appreciated.
Thanks

·
Registered
Titanium Silver Kia Picanto GT-Line S 1.0 TGDI
31 Posts
Hello
I have a 2019 Picanto GT-line S with the 1.0 turbo engine (G3LC)
Mine has now covered 8000 miles from new.
When I start mine up from cold or have left it for about 1 hour it will make a slight rattle from the cam chain / cam chain tenioner & dissapear about 1 second later. I just put it down to building up oil pressure on the hydraulic tensioner.