Kia Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

This is my first post and I have reluctantly registred here because I am now lost about what to do. I bought an 04 Sedona 2.9D 3 weeks ago as my wife and I foster and needed a seven seater. When I test drove it all seemed fine but the heating blew cold. I mentioned it to the guy at the garage (small private dealer in Perthshire) and he said that he didn't know enough but would either get a mechanic to look at it the following day or would knock a few hundred quid off the price if I wanted to get it looked at myself. As we were speaking, the heating came on and I thought nothing else of it (being a complete novice with cars). As I drove the car home it went into limp home mode after approx 20miles. I called a friend who knows more than me about cars than me as I was struggling along the hard shoulder at 20 mph who advised getting the car staight over for a once over. When I got there he noticed that there was not a drop of water in the radiator and filled it with 7.5 litres. I drove the car home (with heating after a few miles) and went back a few days later where we (he)changed the thermostat (start with the cheap things he advised) which proved to be ok anyway on testing in a pot of boiling water. To make matters worse, when I turned it over on his command to check what was going on...........I had left it in gear and the car decided to leap forward at his garage wall leaving a nasty dent in the front bumper (the bodywork of the car was all that it had going for it at this point and I had managed to destroy that also).

Anyway, I have since bitten the bullet and had it into a Kia garage who have conducted an hours diagnostic check and told me that the cylinderhead has gone and it willbe £1200 torepair but I only paid £2000 for he car. The car is ideal in every other way (ideal for what we need) and I would prefer to get it fixed rather than start looking again.