Kia Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2001 1.3 Rio done less than 50000 just had full service but getting very poor fuel consumption around 30-35mpg on a daily run of 70miles when I use my wife 05 Rio done higher mileage I get nearer 45mpg Any suggestions

When I fill up I do get a smell of petrol for a couple of days

Another Question the seats in my wife car are far more comfortable than mine is it feesible to update mine by replacing them from a newer model

thanks

·
Registered
23 Posts
Hi welcome to the forum buldman.

Have you checked the tyre pressures on your car? It sounds as though you might have a fuel leak somewhere if you can smell petrol, but I'm not a mechanic so hopefully viking paul will be able to answer better than me.

·
Registered
1,053 Posts
When were the spark plugs last changed? This was something that was ignored on my 03 RiountilI got the car (at about 70,000 miles!). Also, check the air filter. Did they change it at the service? Also, check when the fuel filter was last changed. Some garages' idea of what a "full service" is can vary a lot. With mostly motorway driving, you should be getting around the 40 mpg mark.
The smell of fuel is a bit worrying, the last thing you want is for the car to go up in flames! Check all the fuel lines for leaks after filling up. Check the fuel overflow pipe near the filler cap has not come off or is leaking, or that the filler cap is sealing properly. Also, make sure you are not trying to get too much in the tank and having it overflow.