Kia Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a three years old Kia Picanto 1.00 never missed a beat until now!
Moved car earlier today no problem, then tried to start it later and engine turns over belt wizzing round in engine bay, but will not start. I do not think it is firing but I am no expert. Plenty of petrol.

Have wash it but only with bucket and sponge as normal could water be in something. Any ideas please.

·
Registered
3,515 Posts
not sure about that year of car but on the older ones the immo light is usually on with the ignition on,and if the immo light is flashing it is key not recognised, also on the older ones the pickup coil is a known fault right across the range, easy diy job,

·
Registered
971 Posts
Welcome to the kia forums Pamela. It does not happen very often but if your car had been moved just to clean and then left the next time you start it may Flood. If you go and try again it will probably start.
The cars today have automatic chokes and you should not press accelerator till firing.
If however you think engine may have flooded 2 choices leave for 1/2hr. Or Plant foot to floor hold there turn engine over for 30 seconds to see if it starts to fire. Hope this is problem if it is simple do not run car for less than 5 minutes.
Jeff

·
Registered
271 Posts
Few years ago I reversed my Micra on the drive to clean it, I only had it running for less than a minute but after cleaning it a few hours after it wouldn't start.
Turned out starting it cold then switching off nearly straight away flooded the plugs hence no spark.
Quite common on k10 Micras to do this, just remove spark plugs for a quick clean then it'll start again.
Same thing could have happened to your Picanto.

·
Registered
3,747 Posts
Very common problem over a wide range of cars. Once started its best to let the car run for a minute to clear residual fuel and to get a little heat into the engine.

·
Registered
3 Posts