Kia Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,<div style=": rgb251, 251, 253;">

<div style=": rgb251, 251, 253;">I'm new to the forum and looking to see if any of you can shed some light or give me some advice.
<div style=": rgb251, 251, 253;">

<div style=": rgb251, 251, 253;">I have a 2013 (62) Kia C'eed 1.6 crdi with 61k miles, it has a full service history however the last service I did myself using genuine parts, I am a qualified mechanic and a perfectionist so prefer to get my hands dirty and know the job is done right.

<div style=": rgb251, 251, 253;">The last couple of weeks the car has gone into "limp home" mode (won't rev over 3k and limited power) every now and then, but turning it off and on usually sorts it out, however yesterday the MIL (Check Engine Light) came on and the car has been going into "limp home" mode a lot more frequently.

<div style=": rgb251, 251, 253;">The MIL according to the owners manual indicates a potential problem has been detected in the emission control system. I have had a similar problem on my previous car (Peugeot) and it turned out to be the Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) was blocked and the car needed a forced regeneration and the DPF cleaning.

<div style=": rgb251, 251, 253;">Unfortunately I think my driving style has contributed towards the blockage as I do frequent short journeys and don't allow the car the get up to operating temperature, I do try to give it a motorway blast on a weekly basis to get the car to regen but I think the damage is done.