Kia Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi guys, newbie here although I am a regular on the Ford Focus forum.

My eldest daughter and her hubby are just in the process of purchasing a '67 plate 1.6GDi ISG1 Sportage with 15k on the clock from an independent garage but with Kia FSH, having already had 3 services so far. I checked through the service history and the only thing of note was an oil leak from the engine a couple of years ago but whatever the problem was it was obviously cured as it is as dry as a bone now, so I'm guessing maybe a loose oil filter or sump plug perhaps ?? and an inoperative TPMS, which again now appears to be working ok (hopefully).
The car was MOT'd in October and has clearly been stood for most of the time since then as there was moderate surface rust on all 4 brake discs and I managed to persuade the vendor to replace the rear discs and pads as part of the deal so we are just waiting for him to contact us to confirm this has been done so we can then go and collect it. Now I am aware that these will be after-market discs and pads, so do I need the invoice from him to prove that they are of OEM quality, in order to keep the 7 year warranty valid ??, as having read through the T's and C's of the warranty this is what it says...

"We would recommend the use of original Kia parts because if your car fails due to a non-genuine part being fitted, then a warranty claim may be rejected. If you use a garage other than a Kia dealership or approved repairer to service your car, please tell them to specify the part numbers on the invoice and keep this safe."

My interpretation of that is that the warranty would only be invalidated if the discs or pads failed, which, having been around the motor industry for 40 years, I know is highly un-likely to happen.