Kia Owners Club Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all - newbie here about to buy a 54 plate Sorento. :D

Car seems spotless, mileage isaverage but I had an independant mobilemechanic look at it who noticed significant corrosion around what he claimed was the rear cross member and said to walk away from the car as the only way to fix it would be to cut it out and replace it which would be expensive.

The dealer I'm buying from (a friend of a friend) was very surprised by this and arranged for his local garage which he regularly uses to look it over.

They confirmed that yes there was some corrosion but it was not the cross member but an additional support bar at the rear of the car that was rusted - this is apparently a hollow bar that just gives a little extra support but is not part of the chassis or the integral structure.

I spoke to the mobile mechanic who started to back track slightly claiming that it wasn't the cross member but that thisbar did a similar job but was still part of the chassis however he was happy that if replaced properly the car would be fine.

I then spoke to my regular mechanic (who unfortunately couldn't travel the distance to check the car) and he agreed that a lot of SUV's have this additional bit of strapping at the back but due to these cars not being undersealed properly it does get filled with water and start to rust and he agreed that if a new bar was correctly welded into place it would be fine.

So, the garage is going to replace this part before selling me the car - it is a big job which is being done at their expense but I wanted to check if anyone has had or heard of similar issues?

My mechanic seems certain that the chassis on these cars are very thick and not likely to rust at such a young age but I'd like some further reassurance if possible as this car will be used to regularly tow a horsebox.