Kia Owners Club Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
MY21 Stonic GT-Line S ISG MHEV iMT - sw220211 - map14.47.48.631.401.5
Joined
·
586 Posts
@iooi the EV6 runs a Standard Gen5w
 
  • Like
Reactions: iooi

·
Registered
MY21 Stonic GT-Line S ISG MHEV iMT - sw220211 - map14.47.48.631.401.5
Joined
·
586 Posts
Can we change the title to contain 220211 or 11 Feb 22? 110222 does not match either compact dates or the software dates
 
  • Like
Reactions: bydandie

·
Registered
MY21 Stonic GT-Line S ISG MHEV iMT - sw220211 - map14.47.48.631.401.5
Joined
·
586 Posts
The interesting bit for me is that the update for the my22 Stonic has the new bigger maps (501) but otherwise identical to the MY21 update which has the older maps (401)
My car is being updated in the background and I’m ok with the 401 maps, but I am debating whether to create a hybrid update by simply copying the 501 maps subfolder into the MY21 update and see if it works.
 

·
Registered
MY21 Stonic GT-Line S ISG MHEV iMT - sw220211 - map14.47.48.631.401.5
Joined
·
586 Posts
After the update no sign of the --- anywhere, even Asda Car park shows 30 sign now
What's the map version you got? 401 or 501?
 

·
Registered
MY21 Stonic GT-Line S ISG MHEV iMT - sw220211 - map14.47.48.631.401.5
Joined
·
586 Posts
What I don’t quite get is why some units got 501 maps and older units 401: is it more detail? Is it a partial rollout? Will 501 come to all units in April?
 

·
Registered
MY21 Stonic GT-Line S ISG MHEV iMT - sw220211 - map14.47.48.631.401.5
Joined
·
586 Posts
MY21 Stonic: same model head unit as my22, but update has 401 maps.
I am tempted to just drop the new 501 maps and navigation software (its a subfolder of the upgrade) onto the memory stick and see if it will upgrade the nav unit on mine.
but tbh I’m happy to wait till April for now.
 

·
Registered
MY21 Stonic GT-Line S ISG MHEV iMT - sw220211 - map14.47.48.631.401.5
Joined
·
586 Posts
In some countries speed limit repeater signs must be displayed at regular intervals to be lawfully applied.
which might explain why the initial assumption by the developers was that if a speed limit was not seen after a certain distance, it would revert to the one known for that road.
 

·
Registered
MY21 Stonic GT-Line S ISG MHEV iMT - sw220211 - map14.47.48.631.401.5
Joined
·
586 Posts
But at the moment it reverts to (---). Not what is stored, correctly or incorrectly in the satnav.
That is probably a different but related bug.
 

·
Registered
MY21 Stonic GT-Line S ISG MHEV iMT - sw220211 - map14.47.48.631.401.5
Joined
·
586 Posts
And besides that. It’s not really a fix as all it’s doing is disabling a system that should not need disabling. However, I do the same currently as in my opinion its better having a potentially out of data speed limit show on the screen rather than the (- - -) on both display and dash.
I think the new rules imply the opposite: the system should not give information with ‘low confidence’ to the user.
 

·
Registered
MY21 Stonic GT-Line S ISG MHEV iMT - sw220211 - map14.47.48.631.401.5
Joined
·
586 Posts
Which makes more sense to rely on what the camera sees surely?
The problem is that the camera sees stuff that might be incorrect, so there’s a decision making process inside the head unit to decide which data is more reliable: map, camera, neither.
Some argue cameras for speed sign recognition are way less reliable than location based info + live data feed and should not be used at all
 

·
Registered
MY21 Stonic GT-Line S ISG MHEV iMT - sw220211 - map14.47.48.631.401.5
Joined
·
586 Posts
I'm not sure if anyone else is experiencing this but on this latest release I'm finding that the map is ignoring the Auto Zoom setting I put in.

If I set a new set of map zoom settings it will use these until the ignition is cycled after which it returns to some pre set ones of its own.

If has never done this before so it looks like another new bug to me 🙄

It would be nice if they started fixing bugs rather than introducing them 😭
Have you tried pressing the ‘zoom level’ button on the map? Between the + and -?
That switches between manual and auto zoom
 

·
Registered
MY21 Stonic GT-Line S ISG MHEV iMT - sw220211 - map14.47.48.631.401.5
Joined
·
586 Posts
You are right but I only use 3D. Since they updated to 14. maps the horizon has dropped significantly reducing the available space for the route but this is horizon level changes depending on the zoom setting, I found some zoom settings that minimised the issue for me and they have worked just fine till this new release. As I say I can set them and they work but as soon as you switch off and switch on again it ignores these and returns to some pre-set of its own.

To be honest I'm getting a bit hacked off with Kia over this, its quite pathetic
I think you are experiencing something similar to what I am.
basically some profile settings seem to be forgotten and I was trying to figure out if this is linked to having more than one profile loaded on the car. Do you have only one profile or two?
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top