FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Welcome to the Kia Owners Club Forums!

If you're new here, please introduce yourself in the Newbies Kia Forum, we have forums for each Kia Model so please make sure you post in the correct forum.

Wireless CarPlay

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Springsbok View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Springsbok Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Wireless CarPlay
    Posted: 15 Apr 2018 at 6:29pm
Hi everyone.

I'm a newbie Kia owner and I'm very happy with my new Sorento.

One thing that does confuse me though is the Carplay/Androidplay feature. It only works when the phone is connected by USB cable, there is no wireless CarPlay connection. It's confusing in that the car includes the wireless charging feature for the phone, which seems pointless if I have to plug my phone in anyway. The phone is charged by the USB connection anyway. Am I missing something here?Confused
Sponsored Links

Simon100 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Simon100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 2018 at 6:41pm
No you are not missing anything. Wireless Android auto etc is only just becoming available.

https://www.techradar.com/news/android-auto-finally-supports-wireless-as-long-as-youve-got-the-right-phone

You will have to use the cable for the moment.
Springsbok View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Springsbok Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 2018 at 6:47pm
Thanks Simon,
I'm guessing it'll be more than a firmware update for the Kia headunitCry
iooi View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote iooi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Apr 2018 at 6:52pm
No, you are not missing anything.